EN// The trials for the Kiama Bodyboard King Pro kicked off at Kiama Surf Beach today with some of the world’s most promising bodyboarders battling for a position into the world grand slam event.

The main base of Kiama Surf Beach dished up a day of small but punchy surf for all trialists.

West Australian Bodyboarder George Humphreys claimed the top honours in the final to qualify for the main event. Humphreys overcame some of Australia’s and the world’s best bodyboarders to take the win ahead of Queensland duo Jake Stone and Lachlan Cramsie who claimed second and third respectively, while South African bodyboarder Michael Ostler took out the fourth position in the final.

Ostler nabbed the best barrel of the day to make the trials final. Ostler posted an excellent 8.75 wave score in the earlier rounds to post the score and make his intentions known for the remainder of the event.

Japanese rider Hayato Enokido joined Ostler in the international standout circle, posting a handful of high scores en route to the semi-finals. Enokido still qualified for the main event in the fifth position.

Early swell forecasts indicate that the main event could potentially start as early as Thursday. 

The elite World Grand Slam event will run from July 30 – August 9 and be mobile between Cronulla’s Shark Island and the far south coast, however, will utilise Kiama as its main hub for competition days.

Kiama’s Surf Beach will host an array of different happenings on the 4th and 5th August with a Pro Junior Series event, coaching clinics with nine-times World Champion Mike Stewart (Hawaii) and the Australian Women’s professional – Lilly Pollard (The Bodyboard Academy). There will also be the “Fling 4 Bling” tow out air show pending wave size.


1st: George Humphreys (Western Australia)

2nd: Jake Stone (Queensland)

3rd: Lachlan Cramsie (Queensland)

4th: Michael Ostler (Sth Africa)

Other qualifiers:

Kane Brewer, (NSW)

Davis Blackwell, (WA)

Hayato Enokido, (Japan)

Brodey Brockman, (NSW)

Mack Crilley, (Hawaii)

Toby Player, (NSW)

Lucas Paulo, (Brazil)

Silas Ganciar, (Brazil)

Wesley Fischer (Sth Africa)

Main Event next call Thursday 6:30am.

All photos by Shannon Glasson / SNSW / APB